Missed Opportunities: Pencil vs. Paintbrush

This topic of this post is the exact opposite of the last post.  Rather than discussing mistakes made, I’m going to talk about opportunities passed.  The missing of an opportunity happens often in chess.  I can’t tell you how many times I let a piece go, and at that very instant, saw a better move I could’ve made.  Not making that move made my game so much harder than it had to be.  So more difficult sometimes that it lead to a loss (those are the worst). 

The battle between calculation and intuition has been present in chess games since the game began to turn into a science.  I often find myself in the midst of this conflict.  I find an exciting, intriguing move, but I also have a “book” move available to me as well ( a sound, but usually more quiet move from my experience).  There have been times where the risk was too great and I take the passive route only learning later that I could have won if I had just gone with my instincts. 

I also have other experiences where I am more confident in my gut feeling and I make the interesting move without an in-depth calculation and gets me a quick win or advantage.  I obviously have had experiences of intuitive decision-making losing me games as well, but those are mistakes that is more related to a previous post of mine. 

Lving in a first-world country, we have SO many options.  Being flooded with these options can be overwhelming sometimes.  Sometimes we underestimate the value of going along with our intuition because our society emphasizes reason and evidence.  Feeling is not as respected as intelligence.  Although I believe that the intelligence of a person is important, I do not think that means we should label feeling as being inferior all the time. 

Sometimes we’re so scared to take a chance our life ends up in a stalemate (pun intended) and we waste time calculating our next decision.  I found that some research shows that some of the biggest procrastinators are perfectionists.  This seems to be a paradox at first, but as I continued reading the article it began to make much more sense.  Perfectionists are afraid of failure so they do their best to avoid it.  One way to avoid failure is to avoid the attempt at success.  This is practically procrastination.  http://webhome.idirect.com/~readon/procrast.html

We have ideas, we have imaginations, we have dreams, but yet our calculations do not always support the reasoning behind these “fairytales”.  Sometimes we stray away from our creative side and submit to the security of stability.   Now I’m not saying I’m going to drop out of college to be a cowboy (I really wouldn’t want to be that anyway), but I would like to dedicate some more time to my passions (chess obviously being one of them).  I think the battle between intuition and calculation is not only fought in chess, but fought in our daily life.  Although calculation tends to be the victor many times, I do believe that we should at the very least give more consideration to our intuitions. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

